Posts tagged messaging

reTXT lets you edit messages or photos after you've already sent them.

reTXT lets you edit messages or photos after you’ve already sent them. Photo: reTXT

reTXT is a radical new messaging app that wants to fix everything wrong with online communication as it exists now. It landed back in April and includes a number of unique features — like being able to edit a message you already sent — all of which are currently patent pending. The app just updated today for iOS and Android with support for voice calling with end-to-end encryption as well.

Sticking out from the crowd of third-party messaging apps, I decided to take a closer look.



Google Messenger, the default SMS client for Nexus users and those with pure Android operating systems, now supports animated GIFs, allowing you to send awesome images like the one above to your friends. It also just got a great new widget.

Google's new Messenger app looks awesome. Screenshots: Google

Google’s new Messenger app looks awesome. Screenshots: Google

Google’s given a fresh lick of paint to many of its own Android apps for Lollipop, while others have been completely rebuilt from the ground up. One of those is Messenger, which replaces the aging Messaging hub and breathes new life into traditional text messaging.


As much as I love my PlayStation, I’ll be the first to admit there are plenty of problems with the PlayStation Network. Messaging friends, for instance, is nothing short of painful — particularly on a PS3. Fortunately, Sony finally gave us the ability to chat via the official PlayStation App for Android and iOS.

And now that app finally supports notifications, meaning you’ll actually get an alert when you receive new messages and friend requests. You can also use photos saved on your phone as your profile picture, and send friend requests via SMS and email.


Confide, a new “off the record” messaging app for Android, allows you to send self-destructing messages to your friends. After they’ve been read, your messages automatically disappear forever, ensuring that your private conversations remain just that.

Next Page »